Setting sail for Mallorca

Ah, Mallorca – an island I’d only imagined in my dreams. *insert dreamy sigh here* If anyone knows me, they’d know that I am my happiest version of myself when placed near the ocean. 

Now picture this with me: You’re laying on a deckchair with a cocktail in hand. There’s soft guitar music playing in the background, there’s a soft salty breeze from the sea blowing on your skin, lifting your hair. And there are sounds of waves, laughter, and a quiet sense of excitement from the people around you. 

How do you feel? Did you sigh too? Did you feel the complete and utter relaxation? Heck yes! Now, I think you’ve felt only a fragment of the emotion I had on the beautiful island of Mallorca. 

Landing in Palma de Mallorca felt surreal – it seemed like a place that I could have only dreamed about. The palm trees, the port, the sounds of the waves hitting the shore by the ochre colored walls of the old town. It completely blew me away and I forever wish I could keep coming back for more. Taking you through my days in Palma is a daunting task because to be completely candid, I have no idea how to put the feelings I had there into real words other than, life-changing, heart-warming and absolutely mind-blowing. I think I left a part of myself on that beautiful paradise of an island and my heart will continue to sing for it every time I need a vacation. 

One of my favorite parts about this city is that it is clearly divided into two – Old Town Palma and the more commercialized seaside area that most tourists get to see. Both beautiful, and both have their own charm to her visitors.

But first, Old Town Palma

Old Town Palma takes you back in time to an era before any of us can remember. Stopping by a Sunday mass at the old church, I was absolutely blown away by this beautiful little town. Choosing to lose myself in the maze that are the streets of the old town, I let myself mindlessly explore  absolute wonder thinking what this town could’ve been like in its prime. Would it have been the center of all things “Mallorca”? Would it have been the busy marketplace that is now just an abandoned square? Was this church (now abandoned), one that was grand and brought her visitors from near and far to it’s knees? It was honestly incredible to be able to see how these beautiful buildings and alleyways have been kept in their original (or in that little church’s case, at least almost original) state. Keeping the mystical charm that is Old Town Palma and preserving the wonder for visitors like me. 

Tip #1: Old Town Palma is very laid-back. Leave the hustle and bustle of your daily life and relax while you take in the sights and sounds that is Mallorca. You can thank me later! 😉

Next on our agenda, Playa Illetas

(Google Maps link here).While it may not the most beautiful beach in the world, I’d say it’s pretty up there on my list of favorites. The bar and restaurant on the beach have set up deckchairs and giant straw umbrellas all over the beach, giving it a fancy “resort” vibe. With music in the background and the sounds of the waves from the crystal clear, turquoise waters of the Mediterranean, I’d say it’s pretty darn perfect for an evening of rest and relaxation. 10/10 would recommend with a sangria in hand!

Tip #2: Getting to Illetas from Palma is very easy, however, getting back is a whole different story. Cabs are far and few between, and it seems like the bus system is the best way to go as they run regularly between the beach and the main port. 

Tip #3: Spanish beaches are not for the faint-hearted. Europeans are very open and comfortable in their own skin and going nude on a beach is not uncommon, especially if you’re one to avoid those pesky tan-lines. As long as you can keep your eyes and judgment to yourself, and I’d say you’ll be very happy.

Boating on the Mediterranean ❤

Bless Oasis Catamaran for their amazing service. If you’ve never been boating, you should definitely give this crew a chance to blow your mind and show you what sailing the Mediterranean should look like.

Having joined a full-day cruise to nowhere, we settled into this beautiful catamaran and enjoyed an incredible full-day at sea with this superb crew and 20 other guests. The excursion includes an unlimited flow of wine throughout the 2 meals served, including a delicious BBQ, as well as the rental of water sports equipment (kayaks, paddle boards/oars and snorkelling masks/tubes) at each stop. Not only is the food delicious, but so are some of the crew (hint hint nudge nudge). I’d have to say that sailing in Mallorca is by far one of the best parts of my trip. I think it even makes the top three things I got to do. Yes, even better than seeing the lavender in the Provence! Crazy I know, but absolutely true and I will never forget what it was like to watch the sunset over Mallorca from sea. I’ll forever be in love with that moment. 

Now there’s so much I can say about Mallorca and how blown away I am by its charm and beauty but nothing will compare to your own experience. I hope to hear of your trip someday should you decide it to be your destination of choice! 

10/10 would recommend – you will never regret it

Sending you love, light and this perfect mojito,

Always your girl,

LV

Leave a comment