Of seaside towns and sunsets

After five days in Avignon, I journeyed on to find myself in the beautiful seaside village of Cassis – a twenty minute train ride outside of Marseilles. Honestly, the only reason I went there or even knew about this place was because my mother got lost there on her previous trip to France. A funny story led me here but I was absolutely blown away by how incredibly beautiful this village is.

Cassis2.jpg

Cassis breathes romance into your life with dreams of the French Riviera and beautiful Mediterranean beaches.I wish I could fully describe what that feels like but honestly, it would be next to impossible and if I had to try, I would tell you that it feels like freedom. The feeling of all the weight of the world has been lifted and you finally have permission to be wholly free to enjoy that very moment in front of you.

There is a special feeling that only seaside towns can bring out in me – that feeling of sand between your toes, wind in your hair and the smell of salt in the air – it truly takes me to another world.

Widely known in France for its calanques a.k.a. narrow, steep-walled inlets that are developed in limestone, dolomite, or other carbonate strata and found along the Mediterranean coast – this place is probably one of my favorite places in the world. I had only planned to spend one night there but sitting on the shore watching the sunset in Cassis, you have no idea how much I wished I could have spent the rest of my life in that very spot.

Spending a beautiful summer’s day/night in Cassis also meant eating at one of their many amazing restaurants like Restaurant Le Bonaparte. The restaurant was just around the corner from my hostel, Au Petit Chez Soi, and I was lucky enough to be seated near a beautiful elderly couple who felt it necessary to include me in their conversation in spite the fact that I was dining alone in a beautiful place. Now don’t get me wrong, I love my own company but having them around made my heart expand with all the love and kindness that was being showered upon me by total strangers that barely spoke any English. I don’t know if that’s why it makes Cassis one of my favorite places in the world but I think that reason makes it onto the long list of reasons why I’m in love with this village.

This, however, is a major reason: While in Cassis, I also highly – HIGHLY – suggest that you take a boat trip to see the calanques because I can promise you that it will change your mind on any other seaside town you’ve seen in your lifetime. These places are beautiful and the beautiful people visiting it definitely add to that gorgeous scenery πŸ˜‰ *hint hint wink wink nudge nudge*

CassisCalanques

Given that, if you plan to visit the calanques in the afternoon like I did, be prepared to get completely soaked. Speaking from experience, the Mediterranean gets rough with you after about 2pm in the afternoon, so sit tight and enjoy the beautiful view of Cassis from the safety of your boat on this kind bumpy ride. It’s still a ton of fun though, I promise!

If you’re the adventurous kind, I would also suggest hiking up to the calanques or the Cape Canaille for unbeatable views of Cassis and the Mediterranean. I unfortunately was unable to do the hike given time restraints but it looks like an amazing time and the hike is completely safe for tourists.

Take a chance! When else are you going to visit a place as beautiful as Cassis?

Now if I were to do visit this village again, I’d probably stay for a week if I could – it’s just the perfect place to recuperate from the hustle and bustle of city life. But if you’re looking for a quick visit, spending a long weekend there would be more than sufficient for you to understand that you’ll probably want to vacation there for the rest of your life. πŸ˜›

Cassis

What can I say, the French Riviera has spoiled me for almost anywhere else in the world.

Thoroughly obsessed and wishing I could go back,

LV

 

 

Leave a Reply

