No turning back now

Hello again, internet world!

Here I am, a week out of surgery and already to take on any adventure thrown my way. I am elated to announce that my disc decompression went great and that I am on a great path towards a full recovery. Would you even believe me if I told you that I can’t tell where the incision site even was? Because I really can’t even tell, that’s how small it was – the miracles of technology!

I wish I could describe how it feels to be able to do things like bend and walk and dance without pain but words wouldn’t be enough. I think the closest feeling I can imagine to this would be finding hope; like finding the light at the end of a tunnel. I have lived my life so restrictedly for the past 2 years just to avoid feeling pain (both physically and metaphorically) and now, I have absolutely no excuse anymore. I don’t even know where to begin in order to thank my medical team and my family for giving me hope to live my life again. It legitimately feels as if I’m been given the best gift in the world.

So now, there’s no turning back.

I am going to use my new lease on life to actually live it. Speaking of which, I am keeping my promise of sharing the list of cities I’ll be seeing throughout my Euro trip in this post.

  • Amsterdam
  • Avignon
  • Barcelona
  • Brussels
  • Cassis
  • Lisbon
  • London, U.K
  • Lyon
  • Madrid
  • Montpellier
  • Palma de Mallorca
  • Paris

I’m excited to be taking a leap of faith and just making this dream come true. I am eternally grateful for the opportunity I have to make this real as well as the love and emotional support of my family in allowing this to happen. I’ve heard a lot of people say that I’m really lucky to be taking this trip and I want to take this platform as a place to say that luck has nothing to do with it. I have dreamed about taking a trip like this since I was a little girl and I have worked my butt off trying to make it a possibility. Yes, the timing is convenient but I am not lucky. If you work hard and you plan to succeed, you can make anything happen too. Someone wise once told me that if I failed to plan, then I planned to fail – and man, did I take that to heart.

“If you fail to plan, then you plan to fail.”

It took me 12 years to make my dream come true but it doesn’t have to be the same for you. Find your dream and chase it; it’s not going to fall into your lap, so plan your action steps to get there. Stop talking yourself off the ledge from doing that you want to do. Stop pretending like your wildest dreams aren’t possible because deep down, you know it is. Stop living in fear of what might go wrong and step out in faith of what could go right.

Your dreams are worth it, and so are you.

With love, encouragement and strong wanderlust,

LV

Leave a Reply

